Seven Military Leadership Lessons from Calvin and Hobbes

Calvin & Hobbes is a great comic strip. I have several of the compilations and my kids love them, as well. As the Angry Staff Officer mentioned, Bill Waterson frequently managed to sneak life lessons into the strips…some for the kids, some for the grown-ups.

The Angry Staff Officer

war

When I was seven, my mother did the worst thing I could conceive of: she took my Calvin and Hobbes books away from me. Why, why would she do such a horrible thing, I asked her at the time, probably kicking and screaming and waving my tiny fists.

It was a very simple answer: I was acting too much like Calvin.

Little did my mother know, taking away my comic books for a little while would do nothing to cure my obsession for Calvin and Hobbes. Oh sure, I stopped dressing up as Stupendous Man and giving the baby-sitter a hard time; I simply got more subtle. I went ahead and took the lessons from Bill Watterson’s masterpieces and made them a part of my life. Not only that, I took it a step further and made them a part of my military leadership style.

Which maybe explains a…

View original post 886 more words

Leave a Reply

