Monday’s #MorningMusic Wrap-Up – August 17 – 23, 2015

On vacation last week so I’m catching up with the week before’s #MorningMusic Wrap-up.

August 17th

So lately, been wondering
Who will be there to take my place
When I’m gone you’ll need love to light the shadows on your face

from “Wherever You Will Go” by The Calling

This song’s got a nice rock sound, but it’s the lyrics that make it. Every now and then I wonder what would happen if I die before my wife. Will she meet someone else with whom she’ll find love and/or companionship? I know that I want her to be happy. These lines reflect my thoughts.


August 18th

There’s nothing where he used to lie
My inspiration has run dry
That’s what is goin’ on
Nothin’s right

from “Torn” by Natalie Imbruglia

I’m not sure who the “he” is in these lyrics, but I can understand the loss of inspiration, the feeling of “nothing’s right”. It’s difficult to explain…and I’ve been in an non-creative place for about half a year or so now. Maybe it’s lack of inspiration. Maybe it’s lack of taking the time to write. Maybe a little of both.


August 19th

You were the one who left me neglected [I’m so sorry]
Apology not accepted, add me to the broken hearts you collected

from “All Cried Out” by Lisa Lisa and Cult Jam

While most folks only remember Lisa Lisa and Cult Jam’s upbeat hits “Head to Toe” and “Lost in Emotion”, I always loved the emotion Lisa Lisa pours into this song. You can feel her pain, her broken heart.


August 20th

My head is full of magic, baby
And I can’t share this with u
I feel I’m on top again, baby
That’s got everything to do with u

from “So Alive” by Love and Rockets

In contrast to the emotion-filled sound of Lisa Lisa’s song, this hit by Love and Rockets is very measured and steady, but it completely works. It fits the “I am full of magic, but I can’t share it with you” story while still vibing with the energy of the subject being the reason for the magic, for being a success.


August 21st

Big bill collecters, they ring my phone,
they bother me when I’m not at home.

from “I Wanna Be Rich” by Calloway

The theme song for all of us struggling through life, living paycheck to paycheck, wishing we were “movin’ on up”.


August 22nd

Come my love I’ll tell you a tale
Of a boy and girl and their love story
And how he loved her oh so much

from “Storybook Love” by Mark Knopfler

The front man for Dire Straits solo work on one of my top five movies, The Princess Bride, brought us this love song…part story, part solemn vow.

Leave a Reply

