Monday’s #MorningMusic Wrap-Up – August 10 – 16, 2015

I forgot to hit the publish button last night…

August 10th

Miss on her own
Miss almost grown
Miss never let a man help her off her throne

from “Miss Independent” by Kelly Clarkson

One of Kelly’s first hits.  Probably my favorite, with the possible exception of “Because of You”.  I just dig the way she’s singing along then hits the chorus with a huge burst of volume.


August 11th

So don’t you sit upon the shoreline
And say you’re satisfied
Choose to chance the rapids
And dare to dance the tide

from “The River” by Garth Brooks

Some of my favorite lyrics here from one of Garth’s best songs.  Check out a post I wrote that was sort of inspired by some of Garth’s songs:  Carpe Diem…or YOLO for you young’uns

 


August 12th

Well I can promise you tomorrow
But I can’t buy back yesterday

from “I’ll Be There For You” by Bon Jovi

One of Bon Jovi’s many power ballads.  I love singing along to this one and I sound just like Jon when I’m in my car with the sound cranked.  It’s amazing!


August 13th

I’m so in love, so in love with the games that you play
So in love, and nothing can keep me away

from “Keep Coming Back” by Richard Marx

This tune’s about knowing the relationship isn’t good, but not being able to stay away. Can’t toooo many of us relate to that?


August 14th

The old for her the new that made
Me think on Ireland dearly
While soft the wind blew down the glade
And shook the golden barley

from “The Wind That Shakes the Barley” by Loreena McKennitt

This is a hauntingly beautiful song of love and death.

This link is to a video showing scenery of Ireland to the audio track of “The Wind that Shakes the Barley”.  Beautiful scenery, of course…tis Ireland, after all:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aPhzgQBlCTY.

Leave a Reply

