Monday’s #MorningMusic Wrap-Up – July 20 – 26, 2015

July 21st

Who will go down to those shady groves
And summon the shadows there

from “The Mummer’s Dance” by Loreena McKennitt

I first heard this song while watching Ever After in the theater with my then soon-to-be wife.  I found Ms. McKennitt’s album, The Book of Secrets, in the Blockbuster Video store while looking for the soundtrack, bought it, and we own many of Loreena McKennitt’s albums.  She’s got a great voice.

 


July 22nd

Let me hear you tell me you love me
Let me hear you say you`ll never leave me
Ooh, girl, that would make me feel so right

from “Make It Last Forever” by Keith Sweat

The title track from one of the best albums of the 80s, Keith Sweat’s debut, is a cool duet featuring Jacci McGhee.  Like most of Sweat’s songs, the lyrics aren’t complicated.  The songs rely on his smooth voice and great grooves.


July 23rd

See my white light flashing as I split the night
Cause if good’s on the left
Then I’m stickin’ to the right

from “Hells Bells” by AC/DC

While everyone loves the catchy, upbeat songs, I find that I prefer some of Jimmy’s more mellow, thoughtful, and introspective songs.  This one is loosely based on a friend of his named Phil Clark.

Promo video for my favorite TV series, Supernatural, featuring AC/DC’s “Hells Bells”.


July 24th

Does any one know where the love of God goes
When the waves turn the minutes to hours?

from “The Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald” by Gordon Lightfoot

Video footage of the Edmund Fitzgerald interspersed with clips from news casts and interviews after/about the wreck.

Leave a Reply

