Monday’s #MorningMusic Wrap-Up – June 29 – July 5, 2015

June 29th

I watched with glee
While your kings and queens
Fought for ten decades
For the gods they made

from “Sympathy for the Devil” by The Rolling Stones

This is my favorite song by the Stones. For me, it’s the complete package of sound, lyrics, and message.


June 30th

Now, I’m the King of the Swinger’s Ball
Jungle V I.P.
Well, I reached the top and had to stop
And that’s what’s bothering me

from “I Wanna Be Like You” by Big Bad Voodoo Daddy

I really dig swing music and Big Bad Voodoo Daddy’s take on “The Jungle Book” tune is simply awesome.

 


July 1st

I yelled back when I heard thunder
But I’m down to one last breath

from “One Last Breath” by Creed

One of my favorites from Creed. Scott Stapp’s voice perfectly injects the anguish of a man looking death in the eyes and pleading for help.


July 2nd

Now you’re not the only one in the world that has problems
Keep your head straight and you can surely solve them

from “Do The Right Thing” by Redhead Kingpin & The FBI

Problems come and go…and everybody has them sooner or later.  Some have them more often than others, and some have more serious ones.  Keep calm, or not, and know that there is almost always a way past them, even if it means asking for help.

This is the video for the original version of the song in which he “counts off” areas around New York, but with the audio for the Happiness remix laid over it where he “counts off” countries around the world.


July 3rd

No lyrics…listening to the soundtrack to Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

composed by John Williams

John Williams continues to prove he can capture the essence of a story in his compositions.  The opening notes bring to life the sound of magic.

Leave a Reply

