Monday’s #MorningMusic Wrap-Up – June 15 – 21, 2015

June 16th

I thought that they were angels
Much to my surprise
We climbed aboard their starship
We headed for the skies

from “Come Sail Away” by Styx

Styx is one of my favorite rock bands and this song (especially the album version) is a fantastic showcase of Dennis DeYoung’s vocals and the band’s harmonies.  I love the twist in the song.


June 17th

There’s a king on a throne with his eyes drawn out
there’s a blind man looking for a shadow of doubt

from “King of Pain'” by The Police

There is some great imagery in this song which combined with the original music to create a brilliantly dreary atmosphere.

This won’t replace the original version as my favorite, but it’s pretty cool…and shows that Lady Gaga actually has a bit of vocal talent.


June 18th

We’ll get into grooving
Love your body language
Baby, let me know
You’ve got me sort of anxious

from “Let It Whip” by Dazz Band

“Danceable Jazz”. This Grammy-winning song by the Dazz Band has such a great sound.


June 19th

Yeah, we walk through a world that we don’t understand
When I look in your eyes, I’m just happy I can

from “Beautiful World” by Bon Jovi

A great upbeat sound chock full of positive lyrics. Everything’s not pretty or perfect, but it’s a world full of beauty and wonder!

 

Leave a Reply

