Monday’s #MorningMusic Wrap-Up – April 20 – 26, 2015

April 20th

All I know
You’ve got to run to win
and I’ll be damned if I’ll get hung up on the line

from “Why Can’t This Be Love?” by Van Halen

One of the first hits for Van Hagar.  Everyone has their opinion of which version of Van Halen was better, but it’s easy to tell the two incarnations of the band apart.


April 21st

Everybody’s got their history
On every page a mystery
U can read my diary
You’re in every line
Jealous minds
Never satisfied

from “Would I Lie To You?” by Charles & Eddie

Honesty wins every time.  Open your baggage, empty the closets, and let the light shine on those skeletons.  It’s the only way to have a solid relationship…with friends or lovers.


April 22nd

We’ll find a rhythm all our own
Melt into it nice and slow
Love ourselves away from here
Your heart beating next to mine

from “Set the Night to Music” by Roberta Flack and Maxi Priest

This is just such a pretty song.  It’s got a romantic evening sound, light and airy, with great harmonizing.

 


April 23rd

No one compares
You stand alone, to every record I own
Music to my heart that’s what you are
A song that goes on and on

from “Love You Like A Love Song” by Selena Gomez & The Scene

A perfect example of how I think most of the time.  There’s a song that fits almost everything I’m doing or feeling.  I even borrow a few lines of a song for part of my wedding vows.


April 24th

Running down by the lake shore
She did love the sound of a summer storm
It played on the lake like a mandolin

from “Mandolin Rain” by Bruce Hornsby

I love the sound of summer storms, as well…from the gentle falling rain on the roof, to the rolling thunder, to the frog-stanglin’ downpour.  I love how you an smell the rain in the air before a good gully washer hits.  Bruce did a great job of capturing the mood and sounds of a storm blowing across a lake.

Leave a Reply

