Monday’s #MorningMusic Wrap-Up – March 23 – 29, 2015

March 23th

Who knows what tomorrow brings
In a world few hearts survive

from “Up Where We Belong” by Joe Cocker and Jennifer Warnes

Joe’s raspy voice is perfect for this gritty song about love from “An Officer and a Gentleman”.


 

March 24th

You always taught me right from wrong
I need your help, daddy please be strong

from “Papa Don’t Preach” by Madonna

With the second single from her True blue album, Madonna dealt with teen pregnancy with pleading lyrics and a catchy tune.  The video features Danny Aiello, a fairly under-rated actor, as Madonna’s papa.

 


 

March 25th

So I walk up on high
And I step to the edge
To see my world below

from “World that I Know” by Collective Soul

The video shows a man thinking of committing suicide by jumping off a building, but he ultimately doesn’t.  While I do find the lyrics and mood of the song to be somber, I think of it as more of an awakening, of realizing what the world around oneself has become, then looking at it from a new perspective, with a bit of hope.

 


 

March 26th

Kid ‘N Play can’t get enough
of that funky cold go-go rhythm
you wanted a dope jam
well that’s what we’re givin’

from “Rollin’ with Kid ‘N Play” by Kid ‘N Play

Just a fun jam.


 

March 27th

All those times when our lips were kissing
Our tongues were telling lies

 from “Kiss this Thing Goodbye” by Del Amitri

I just love these lines.  How many relationships got started or ended this way?  While this was released in the 80’s in the UK, I’ll claim it as one of my favorite ’90s songs since it didn’t really hit here until then.

Leave a Reply

