Monday’s #MorningMusic Wrap-Up – March 16 – 22, 2015

March 16th

It’s down to the cellar
if the fire’s not there
we’ll have a grand old spree

from “The Old Dun Cow” by John Ickes

This is one of the many “traditional” Irish drinking songs.  It’s good fun.  The version I was listening to was by John Ickes, who I used to hear playing live in a bar.  He now performs with a group out of Virginia Beach called Celtica.


 

March 17th

And my heart with grief was sore
For I parted then with valiant men
Whom I never shall see n’more.

from “The Foggy Dew” by The Chieftains with Sinead O’Connor

Sinead sings this with such a haunted voice that I get chills when I listen to it.


 

March 18th

But I won’t heed the battle call
It puts my back up
Puts my back up against the wall

from “Sunday Bloody Sunday” by U2

Remember when U2 was just an upstart political band with catchy tunes that most people hadn’t heard of?


 

March 19th

Of all the money that e’er I spent
I’ve spent it in good company
And all the harm that ever I did
Alas it was to none but me

from “The Parting Glass” by Makem and Clancey

The first time I recall hearing this was a couple years ago in a show at an amusement park.  It’s a popular song to sing at the end of a gathering in Scotland and Ireland.


 

March 20th

no lyrics…I was listening to James Galway’s “The Celtic Minstrel”

The video is really nothing more than a picture of an album cover, but the song, “The Dark Island”, is one of my favorite tunes by him.

One Response

  1. Thanks. Lots of emotions swirling around in this playlist! Pleased to have found you here and readybfor further exploration. Regards from Thom at the immortal jukebox (latest post featuring van morrison and the chieftains)

Leave a Reply

