Monday’s #MorningMusic Wrap-Up – March 9 – 15, 2015

March 9th

When I first laid my eyes upon you
I knew right then and there you were the one
Eyes so deep, you send me melting

from “Don’t You Want Me” by Jody Watley

The third single from her debut album peaked at #6 on the Billboard Hot 100.


 

March 10th

On a cloud of sound I drift in the night
Any place it goes is right
Goes far, flies near
To the stars away from here

from “Magic Carpet Ride” by Steppenwolf

Interesting fact:  Following in the footsteps of Run-DMC and Aerosmith, Steppenwolf partnered with Grandmaster Flash and The Furious Five to remake Magic Carpet Ride in 1988.


 

March 11th

I got the itch
And a restless soul
She gone with the wind
Gonna go for broke tonight
And that’s all night

from “Just Like Paradise” by David Lee Roth

Having broken away from Van Halen, this was Diamond Dave’s lead single from his second album.


 

March 12th

She’s juicy and she’s trouble
She gets it to me good
My woman gives me power
Goes right down to my blood

from “You Should Be Dancing” by Bee Gees

While it was the Bee Gee’s third #1 on the Hot 100, this was the first in which Barry used his falsetto on the lead vocals.  I love the energy of this one!


 

March 13th

If u don’t like what u see here
Nobody wants to take u prisoner
So let me make it nice and clear dear
The exit is right there

from “Get the Funk Out” by Extreme

This wasn’t much of a hit.  It fared better in the U.K., but, hey, if you don’t like it…

Leave a Reply

