On not being morose -five years later

It’s Veteran’s Day, the day we celebrate all the military who have served Our Country.  For the last five years, it has also been the day after I was told by my mother that “We are not going to be morose about this“, her diagnosis of stage four lung cancer.  While it’s not quite an Internet meme, I’ll forever remember those words as if I just heard them last night.  I wrote a second post a year later, “Army Wife: The Toughest Job in the Army“, in which I talked about these infamous (to me) words.

So, five years later, I’m proud to have served in the Army, proud that my father and brother served in the military, and proud and thankful to all my friends and family who have served, as well as all those I don’t know…and cancer still sucks!

 

2 Responses

  1. There is no doubt your mother is proud of you and what a moral and ethical man you have become. Although saddened by the memory of her struggles, being reminded of her toughness and willingness to confront her illnesses head-on renews my strength to carry-on. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

