Music Monday – Clap Along

Anyone who knows me knows that I gave up on contemporary, popular music back in the early days of the new millennium…back when Jason Mraz, John Mayer, and other singer-songwriters strumming their guitars began really boring me on the radio.  When it wasn’t the strum-you-to-sleep music on the radio, it was clubtastic, hip-hoppy crap…or the DJ and commercials jabbering away on the airwaves.
I went exclusively to my CD collection for my commutes.  Friends would occasionally tell me about songs or artists that I “had to hear”.  Some were good.  Others weren’t for me.
I used Yahoo Music and while I played it enough that most of the playlists managed to play artists I already listened to, other I hadn’t heard would pop up.  That’s how I found Evanescence. Now I use Pandora and iHeartRadio and have found a few more artists this way.  Slippery When Wet Radio on iHeart is a great station, by the way, and I’ve found myself getting back/more into metal over the last couple years listening to it.
Interestingly enough, a song and group that I’ve never seen posted by anyone was one of the included songs on my phone: “Trippin’ at the Disco” is a jamming tune by People Under The Stairs.
Having kids that like music and movies and their soundtracks has also lead to some stuff I like.  I like a number of Taylor Swift‘s songs (and find her to be a fantastic role model), a couple One Direction songs, some Selena Gomez, and have seen Hot Chelle Rae in concert at an amusement park.  Surprisingly, they can play some fairly good rock stuff, but it seems their pop-ish songs are what they are more known for.
Through social media, I found some other artists when friends posted songs…Clairy Browne & The Bangin’ Rackettes being my favorite artist I’ve discovered this way.
All this being said, over the last decade or so, I’ve not been overly impressed with the music and artists I’ve heard on the whole.  In April, a friend posted a YouTube video on Facebook of people dancing around my hometown (or what I think of as my hometown) to Pharrell Williams‘ “Happy”.  I didn’t realize I’d heard the song on Despicable Me 2, but was instantly hooked on it.  I easily found the live version and Despicable Me version of the video on YouTube and posted the link to my wife’s wall.  We may be a wee bit ‘minion’ obsessed.
This is my pick for best song from the last decade or so.
While this song gets played at least once every time we go somewhere as a family, it still hasn’t changed my listening habit.  I’m still radio averse…but while I wait for the music scene to morph again, I’ll be Happy and clap along because I know what makes me happy.
Happy by Pharrell Williams

Because I’m happy
Clap along if you feel like a room without a roof
Because I’m happy
Clap along if you feel like happiness is the truth
Because I’m happy
Clap along if you know what happiness is to you
Because I’m happy
Clap along if you feel like that’s what you wanna do

Leave a Reply

