Music Monday – Two of my favorite artists on the eve of Christmas Eve

Another short Music Monday and again Christmas is the subject.  Two of my favorite artists, George Michael and Kelly Clarkson provide the songs this week, with Kelly getting a little help from a couple country superstars.

December Song (I Dreamed of Christmas) by George Michael
(released 2009; peaked #14 UK Singles, #18 Netherlands)

There was always Christmas time
To wipe the year away
I guess that morning they’d decided
That the war would have to wait

There was always Christmas time
Jesus came to stay
I could believe in peace on Earth
And I could watch TV all day
So I dreamed of Christmas

While it has a rather melancholy sound to it, but I like that it alludes to life (good or bad) taking a break for Christmas time and that because it is at the end of the year, it can kind of wipe away the year so you can start over in the next.  Ultimately, it’s a George Michael song and there isn’t much by him that I don’t like.

Silent Night by Kelly Clarkson with Trisha Yearwood and Reba McEntire

Silent night, Holy night
Son of God, love’s pure light
Radiant beams from thy holy face
With the dawn of redeeming grace

Wow!  This is my favorite version of this song.  Three music powerhouses in their own rights.  While I’ve really been digging Kelly’s new album, Wrapped in Red, I got chills when Reba began singing.  She comes on stage just before the third verse (about the two minute mark) and you can see that she’s not just singing a song, she’s proclaiming what she believes.  Awesome!

Leave a Reply

