Music Monday – Tis The Season

Christmas season is in full swing.  Let me rephrase that.  I am acknowledging that Christmas Season is in full swing.  Prior to Thanksgiving, I do my best to pretend that all the Christmas stuff in the stores doesn’t exist.  Heck, this year it was out before Halloween.  So, now that Christmas season is upon us, I’ve kicking off the first Music Monday with some Christmas songs, but not the traditional Andy Williams, Mitch Miller, Roger Whittaker, Mariah Carey (oh, yes, “All I Want For Christmas Is You” is a classic!), Nat King Cole, and Brenda Lee with their chestnuts, joy, resting gentlemen, and rockin’ around the tree.  This week, at least, we’re listening to James Galway, Big Bad Voodoo Daddy, Loreena McKennitt, and Kelly Clarkson.  Lastly, I’ve included a video of one of the many home light shows set to Christmas music.

The Wexford CarolJames Galway
(released 1998)
A master flautist.  I have a number of James Galway’s CDs.  (Yes, compact discs.  I hear you younger folks sniggering.)
Rudolph the Red-Nosed ReindeerBig Bad Voodoo Daddy
(released 2013)
Didn’t think we needed the lyrics to “Rudolph”.  I think we all know them pretty well.  I do love Big Bad Voodoo Daddy, though.  I’d love to have them play an office Christmas party.
The Bells of Christmas by Loreena McKennitt
(released in 1994 on the soundtrack to “The Santa Clause”)
Now with song we fill the night
While magic dances in the light
To wish you now and all the year
The joy that comes with Christmas cheer
Hear our voices fill the air
To drive the winter’s cold away
And so our hearts with all will share
The love that comes with Christmas Day
Loreena McKennitt has such a beautiful voice.  I’ve been a fan of her Celtic music for years.  This song was featured in “The Santa Clause” with Tim Allen.
Please Come Home for Christmas (Bells Will Be Ringing)Kelly Clarkson
(released 2013)

Was I out of my head? Was I out of my mind?
How could I have ever been so blind?
I was waiting for an indication, it was hard to find

I posted over a month ago about Kelly Clarkson’s new Christmas album, Wrapped In Red, and the song ‘Underneath the Tree’.  It’s a jamming little tune that’s sure to be a hit and find its way into the annual Christmas song radio playlists.  ‘Please Come Home For Christmas’ is one of the covers on the album, originally released in 1960 by blues singer Charles Brown.
Past Three O’Clock – James Galway
(released 1992)

Mid earth rejoices
Hearing such voices
e’ertofore so well
Carolling Nowell.

Past three a clock,
And a cold frosty morning,
Past three a clock;
Good morrow, masters all!

Hinds o’er the pearly,
Dewy lawn early
Seek the high Stranger
Laid in the manger

I added this second James Galway song because I hadn’t heard it before.  I’m not saying it’s one of my favorites, but it’s interesting.  While looking for the lyrics to this song, I also found a site (The Hymns and Carols of Christmas) that’s stated purpose is “preserve the rich history of Christmas carols and hymns that might otherwise be lost.”  From what I can gather, this version of the song’s lyrics was written in 1924.

To finish this Music Monday up, here’s a video of one of those crazy houses with the light show set to Christmas music.
Leave a Reply

