Music Monday – Cuckoo’s Nest

Rob Ford, Mayor of TorontoHad to start this week’s Music Monday off with that clip from The Wedding Singer after hearing about Toronto Mayor, Rob Ford.  While I applaud his enthusiasm for his job, this guy is off the rails and heading for a train wreck bigger than the ACA website roll-out.  While I don’t know that he’s really crazy…these songs came to mind as I have heard about his dramatics this week.
Psycho CircusKISS
(released 1998; peaked #1 US Mainstream Rock, #4 Sweden, #9 Canada, #22 Australia)

You’re in the psy
You’re in the psycho circus
You’re in the psy
You’re in the psycho circus
And I say welcome to the show
Welcome to the show
Welcome to the show
The show

KISS just rocks.  My first album was Dynasty.  My parents gave it to me for Christmas one year.  I’ve been a fan since.
Let’s Go CrazyPrince
(released 1984; peaked #1 US Hot 100, US R&B, US Dance, #2 Canada, #7 UK, #10 Australia, #11 Netherlands, #13 New Zealand)

Are we gonna let the elevator
Bring us down, oh, no let’s go
Let’s go crazy, let’s get nuts
Look for the purple banana
‘Til they put us in the truck, let’s go

Prince is just an awesome musician and performer.  I love how he took an iconic 80’s smash and funked it up at the 2013 Billboard Music Awards.
Out of My HeadFastball
(released 1999; peaked #3 US Alternative Rock, #20 US Hot 100, #8 US Top 40)

Was I out of my head? Was I out of my mind?
How could I have ever been so blind?
I was waiting for an indication, it was hard to find

This is one of two of the only songs I’ve heard by Fastball…’The Way’ being the other…but apparently they’re still making music.
Crazy TrainOzzy Osbourne
(released 1980; peaked #1 Switzerland, #4 Netherlands & Sweden, #5 Finland, #6 Denmark & Austria, #9 US Mainstream Rock)

Mental wounds still screaming
Driving me insane
I’m going off the rails on a crazy train

With Black Sabbath or solo, Ozzy has a certain sound that works for rockin’, as well as the few power ballads he’s released.  Crazy Train is definitely in the rockin’ category and while Rob Ford may not have quite had his train wreck yet, he’s off the rails.
Leave a Reply

