Music Monday – Veteran’s Day 2013

It’s Veteran’s Day.  This year, I’m posting songs that have been used in TV shows or movies that are about Vietnam because it was during that conflict** that my father served two tours.  Luckily, for me and my family, he didn’t see combat and came back alive.  To all our veterans and those currently serving, as well as their family and loved ones, thanks for your service.  To those who gave their lives, may you rest in peace.  You are not forgotten!
Paint It, BlackThe Rolling Stones
(released 1966; peaked #1 US Hot 100, UK, Netherlands, Australia, #2 Germany, #8 France)
I see a line of cars and they’re all painted black
With flowers and my love, both never to come back
I see people turn their heads and quickly look away
Like a newborn baby it just happens ev’ryday
The theme/opening credit song to the TV show Tour of Duty, this has a great tempo that just feels like a chopper ride.  This is not the official video and it contains footage/clips from the conflict.
Nowhere To RunMartha Reeves and The Vandellas
(released 1965; peaked #5 US R&B, #8 US Hot 100, #26 UK)
Each night, as I sleep, into my heart you creep,
I wake up feeling sorry I met you,
Hoping soon, that I’ll forget you

When I look in the mirror, to comb my hair
I see your face just-a-smilin’ there

Nowhere to run, nowhere to hide, from you baby
Got nowhere to run to baby, nowhere to hide

While the lyrics have nothing to do with Vietnam, the song was released during the conflict and is featured in numerous movies and montages about it.
Ride of the ValkyriesRichard Wagner
(composed 1851)
Obviously, written well before the Vietnam conflict, it is featured here because it is one of the most memorable scenes from Apocalypse Now, a “classic” movie about the Vietnam conflict.
**Note:  By the dictionary definition, Vietnam was a war.  However, since the United States Congress never formally declared was, it is categorized by the government as the Vietnam Conflict. [ source – thevietnamwar.info ]
Leave a Reply

