Music Monday – Swing It, Baby!

I may not do a lot of dancing, and I’ve never tried Swing, but I truly love the big band sound that makes up swing music.  The horns sing to me…and how can you not find yourself tapping your foot and snapping your fingers along to the beat?  Today’s Music Monday bring you music from a few modern-ish swing artists as well as the classic Glenn Miller.
I Wanna Be Like YouBig Bad Voodoo Daddy
(released 1999)
Now I’m the king of the swingers, boy, Jungle V.I.P.
I’ve reached the top, and had to stop,
And that’s what’s bothering me
I wanna be a man, a man cub, stroll right into town
And be just like the other men I’m tired of monkeying around
You may recognize the tune and/or lyrics if you’re a Jungle Book movie fan, but you’ve probably not heard it all swung up like this.  I love BBVD (Big Bad Voodoo Daddy) and this is probably my favorite song of theirs.
So Long TootsCherry Poppin’ Daddies
(released 2000)
So long toots
Bound for Chicago it’s been swell
You got your hooks
Into me momma
You know damn well
You know i gotta leave
Before you’re up a tree
And our good thing comes crashin to the ground
Another modern swing band, the Cherry Poppin’ Daddies busted into the scene around 1990 along with BBVD.
In the MoodGlen Miller Orchestra
(released 1939)
From one of the original swing kings, the Glenn Miller Orchestra.
Why Me? – Big Bad Voodoo Daddy
(released 2012)
From their most recent (non-Christmas) album, Rattle Them Bones.  Man these guys just get my blood flowing…foot tapping, head bobbing.  It’s tough not to play the drums on my desk.
AND….since we’re coming up on Christmas in a month and a half or so…
Christmas ExtravaganzaBrian Setzer Orchestra
(released 2005)
This video is the first 8 or so minutes of the Extravaganza.  This link is to the hour and forty minute show: http://youtu.be/dDcajtt8uU0.
Leave a Reply

