Music Monday – Shutting Down

We’re at the last hour for the government to avoid a shutdown…again.  Congress is working, maybe, on passing a continuing resolution to fund the government for a week, or a month, or a year…because they are incapable of passing an actual budget.  It’s incredibly sad how pathetic these folks in Washington are at doing their jobs.  And they get paid waaaay better than most Americans.  Ah, well…bartender, pass the drinks.

 

Closing Time by Semisonic

(released 1998; peaked #11 US Hot 100, #1 US Alternative Rock, #2 Canada Alternative, #25 UK)

Closing time
You don’t have to go home but you can’t stay here

Yes, this isn’t really about a government shutdown, but I hear Congress saying much the same thing: “We don’t care where you go, but you can’t come to work.”

 

One Bourbon, One Scotch, One Beer by George Thorogood & The Destroyers

(No single information available)

I come home one Friday,
had to tell the landlady I’d-a lost my job.
She said that don’t confront me,
long as I get my money next Friday
Now next Friday come I didn’t get the rent,
and out the door I went.

So I goes to the landlady,
I said, “You let me slide?”
I’ll have the rent for you in a month,
next I don’t know.

This is much closer to home for a lot of government workers:  “Hey mortgage company, Congress just furloughed me from my job, can you let me slide, I’ll pay you next month, I don’t know.”

2 Responses

  1. Dear friend, George Thorogood brought boogie blues to white kids in the 80s, but give the master and songwriter his due:

    John Lee Hooker

    • I know it was a cover/remake/whatever-you-want-to-call-it. Not trying to slight John Lee Hooker. He is most definitely a classic.

Leave a comment