Music Monday – Get a Job

It’s Labor Day in the USA.  Don’t quit on this post early.  Your work here isn’t done until you’ve heard our top chart performer of the group at the bottom.

Get a Haircut by George Thorogood & The Destroyers

(released 1993; peaked #2 US Mainstream Rock, #15 New Zealand)

I met this chick she was my No.1 fan
She took me home to meet her mommy and dad
They took one look at me and said (“oh my god”)
Get a haircut and get a real job

One thing’s for sure…regardless of the subject matter, George Thorogood & The Detroyers are going to rock it.  From haircuts and hand jives to drinking alone, it’s all exciting when George and company are tearing up the guitars.

Work Hard by Depeche Mode
(not released as a single)

Nothing comes easy
It never will
Nothing comes easy
But a broken will

Much like the song after this one, Depeche Mode’s “Work Hard” is kind of monotonous…like work.  It’s kind of catchy, though, which may be why it still sticks in my head almost thirty years after I first heard it on my People Are People record.

Workin’ in the Coal Mine by Devo
(released 1981; peaked #43 US Hot 100, #30 US Dance, #20 Australia, #17 Canada, #8 New Zealand)

Five o’clock in the mornin’
I’m up before the sun
Whem my work day is over
I’m too tired for havin’ fun

Even more monotonous than “Work Hard” by Depeche Mode, Devo certainly captures the feeling of the daily grind.

 

Get a Job by The Silhouettes

(released 1958; peaked #1 US Hot 100, #1 US R&B)

Every morning about this time
She get me out of my bed
A-crying get a job.
After breakfast, everyday,
She throws the want ads right my way
And never fails to say,
Get a job Sha na na na, sha na na na na

I am a big fan of doo-wop and this song is one of the great songs from that era.

 

Leave a Reply

