Music Monday – Papa’s Day

For those who celebrate ‘relative days’, yesterday was Father’s Day.  As such, this Music Monday is father-themed.  Not all of these songs have great things to say about fathers, but not all fathers can be great.  Be thankful if you had a great father.  Strive to be great for your children if you are a father!
Papa Was A Rolling Stone by The Temptations
(released 1972; peaked #1 US Hot 100, #5 US R&B, #14 UK Singles)
Papa was a rollin’ stone.
Wherever he laid his head was his home.
My papa was a rolling stone.  The whole family was as we followed him from post to post around the world.  There are folks who think raising children as Army (and other services) brats is detrimental to their development.  I disagree completely.  I’ve written other posts about it and wouldn’t trade my experiences rolling around the world.
Papa Don’t Preach by Madonna
(released 1986; peaked #1 US, Australia, Canada, Italy & UK , #2 Germany & Switzerland, #3 France, #4 US Dance)
What I need right now is some good advice, please
As the father of two girls, this is one of my biggest fears…childhood pregnancy.  All the “preaching” in the world comes down to our daughters’ decisions and a little luck.  The best line in the song to me, is the one above, where the daughter realizes that as mad as Papa may be, he’s who she needs to talk to.  As mad as we may get at our children, we love them, and have their best interest at heart.
My Father’s Eyes by Eric Clapton
(released 1998; peaked #16 US Hot 100, #18 Austria)
Then the light begins to shine
And I hear those ancient lullabies.
And as I watch this seedling grow,
Feel my heart start to overflow.

Where do I find the words to say?
How do I teach him?
What do we play?
Bit by bit, I’ve realized
That’s when I need them,
That’s when I need my father’s eyes.

There’s no instruction book.  Well, there are many books written on how to raise kids, but none of them are solutions.  Each kid is different and it’s truly a learn-as-you-go endeavor.  Watching our children grow, teaching them, involves observing them and guiding them with what we learned from our fathers (and mothers) as well as what we’ve learned and bring to the table.  We can never have too much wisdom at our disposal when it comes to raising our children.
Leader of the Band by Dan Fogelberg
(released 1981; peaked #1 US and Canada Adult Contemporary, #9 US Hot 100)
I thank you for the music
And your stories of the road
I thank you for the freedom
When it came my time to go
I thank you for the kindness
And the times when you got tough
And, papa, I don’t think I
Said ‘I love you’ near enough
This is just a great song, and this last stanza captures, in a nutshell, my relationship with my dad.  While my father wasn’t a musician, his love of music and the variety he played was a major factor in my love of music.  My musical tastes are wider than his, but it’s because of him that I learned to listen to and appreciate music of different sounds and cultures.  His stories of the road aren’t of a traveling musician, but as a child moving around the world and his perspective on the moving that we did as a family.  The last four lines are pretty self-explanatory.  I love you, dad!  Thanks for all you taught me.  Happy Father’s Day!
Leave a Reply

