Music Monday – Help! I Need Someone

Nope, no Beatles here, but I thought that line would get your attention and it fits this week’s Music Monday.  Often, we find ourselves feeling down or needing a helping hand to get through a trying time.  In those times, it helps to know that there are others who’ve also been in similar situations and survived them, which is why support groups exist.  I know a few people going through some tough times, as I’m sure most of you do.  Here are a few songs about being there for each other.

Bridge Over Troubled Water by Simon and Garfunkel

(released 1970; peaked #1 US Hot 100, #1 US Adult Contemporary, #1 UK Singles, #2 Australia, #3 Germany)

When you’re weary, feelin’ small
When tears are in your eyes, I will dry them all.
I’m on your side, Oh, when times get rough
And friends just can’t be found.
Like a bridge over troubled waters
I will lay me down.

My problem with these lyrics is the line “and friends just can’t be found.”  To me, friends will be there.  Unfortunately, it is often in times of trouble that we find out who our true friends are.  For my friends, I will be there whenever they need a hand, a shoulder, or just an ear.  For just about anyone else, I’m (usually) willing to offer an ear, which sometimes is enough.  Just having someone to chat with can do wonders.

Lean on Me by Club Nouveau

(released 1994; peaked #1 US Hot 100, #1 US Dance, #2 US R&B, #1 Canada, #1 New Zealand)

Sometimes in our lives
We all have pain, we all have sorrow
But if we are wise
We know that there’s always tomorrow

Lean on me when you’re not strong
And I’ll be your friend, I’ll help you carry on
For it won’t be long
‘Til I’m gonna need somebody to lean on

Please, swallow your pride
If I have things you need to borrow
For no one can fill those of your needs
That you won’t let show

This is a great remake of the Bill Withers classic and was a big hit for Club Nouveau.  The lyrics really say it all.  We all have pain.  We all have sorrow.  We all need somebody to lean on sometimes.  I’ll be there for you because there will be a time when I need to lean on you.  Don’t keep it all inside.  Let someone know.  Don’t assume they’ll see you’re troubled.

I’ll Stand By You by The Pretenders

(released 1994; peaked #7 US Mainstream Rock, #21 US Hot 100, #10 UK Singles)

When you’re standing at the crossroads
And don’t know which path to choose
Let me come along
Cause even if you’re wrong

I’ll stand by you, I’ll stand by you
Won’t let nobody hurt you
I’ll stand by you

Take me in, into your darkest hour
And I’ll never desert you
I’ll stand by you

A beautiful song that reminds us that we aren’t alone.  We all have someone out there who is willing to help, to stand by us through our biggest problems.
One Response

  1. Great selection for this week.

Leave a Reply

