Music Monday – A Matter of Touch

Chrissy Amphlett, the lead singer of Divinyls, died yesterday after battling breast cancer and multiple sclerosis.  Her biggest hit with the band was I Touch Myself.  A dirty little song with a sexy video.  In honor of Chrissy’s passing, this week’s Music Monday focuses on songs about touch.  There were a lot to pick from, but I restrained myself and stuck to five.

I Touch Myself by Divinyls

(released 1990; peaked: #4 US Hot 100, #2 US Alternative, #1 Australia)

I love myself, I want you to love me
When I feel down, I want you above me
I search myself, I want you to find me
I forget myself, I want you to remind me

I don’t want anybody else
And when I think about you I touch myself
I don’t want anybody else
Oh no, oh no, oh no

The only thing I really ever remember about this video is when it pans past the doorway and the girl is bent completely over at the waist and then curl up even more.  Does that girl have a spine?  Wow!  I like this song, not just for the dirty images it provokes, but for the way Chrissy sings it, the rhythm, the jolting twang on the guitar…well, ok, it all adds up to a really erotic song, which is outstanding considering it’s not slow.

Lovin’, Touchin’ Squeezin’ by Journey

(released 1979; peaked: #16 US Hot 100; #12 Canada)

You make me weep and wanna die
Just when you said we’d try
Lovin’, touchin’, squeezin’ each other
When I’m alone all by myself
You’re out with someone else
Lovin’, touchin’, squeezin’ each other

While this isn’t my favorite Journey song, I do love the bluesy sound…and Steve Perry’s voice is incredible.  My favorite part in the song is Perry’s delivery of “Now it’s your turn, girl, to cry!” right before the na na na na na na’s.

Touch Me (I Want Your Body) by Samantha Fox

(released 1986; peaked: #4 US Billboard Hot 100, #3 UK Singles, #1 in multiple other countries)

Quick as a flash, you disappeared into the night
Did I hurt you, boy? Didn’t I treat you right?
You made me feel so good, made me feel myself
Now I’m alone and you’re with somebody else

This video is from a live performance Samantha did in 2007 in Australia.  Samantha burst onto the music scene in the mid-eighties after spending time modeling.  Her pretty face, smoking bod, and danceable tunes made her a hit, especially in the music video era.

Invisible Touch by Genesis

(released 1986; peaked #1 US Hot 100, #15 UK Singles, #3 Australia)

She seems to have an invisible touch yeah
She reaches in, and grabs right hold of your heart
She seems to have an invisible touch yeah
It takes control and slowly tears you apart.

From their pre-seventies inception through their last work in the two thousands, Genesis have released many albums, and have had about a dozen or songs crack the top ten.  Invisible Touch was their only US Hot 100 number one.  This isn’t my favorite Genesis song, but it does bring back memories of my high school drill team performing to it.

Touch My Body by Mariah Carey

(released 2008; peaked: #1 US Hot 100, #2 US R&B & Canada)

Touch my body
Let me wrap my thighs
All around your waist
Just a little taste
Touch my body
Know you love my curves
Come on and give me what I deserve
And touch my body.

This song has an interesting vocal sound…almost like a butterfly flitting around.  That is, until the chorus where Mariah lets her voice get more honeyed and sensual.  The video is great:  a combination of Mariah wiggling around in all her curvaceous hotness teasing and goofing around with the compu-nerd.

Leave a Reply

