Recipe: Robio’s Crock Pot Squash & Zuke Lasagna

The last time my family was going on a camping trip, I made a zucchini and squash lasagna a week ahead of time, froze it, and brought it along to warm up and eat.  Everyone loved it, but it took nearly as long to warm it up as it did to make it fresh.  This time, I pre-cooked the meat and onions and took them with us in a Ziploc bag.  The day I made the lasagna, I just threw all the ingredients into a crock pot before we headed out for the day.  So what’s the Squash and Zuke part?  As a gluten-free recipe, instead of the noodles, I use squash and zucchini.  With the traditional preparation, I sliced the veggies lengthwise, relatively thin, and layered them in place of the noodles.  It tastes great and is a bit healthier than traditional.  This time, I chopped up the veggies as if I was cooking them for a pot or skillet.
The Ingredients
2 lbs Ground pork
Bacon (about 2 strips – I used thick cut, maple cured)
1 medium onion (I used Vidalia)
3 to 4 cloves garlic, chopped
Italian seasoning
Basil
Ground Turmeric
1 large can (about 28 oz) crushed tomatoes
1 can petite diced tomatoes
2 or 3 Zucchini (depending on size)
2 or 3 Yellow Squash (depending on size)
16 oz part-skim Ricotta Cheese
2 – 8oz bags of shredded Mozzarella Cheese
Salt
Black pepper
Prep and Cooking
1. Dice the bacon into small pieces.
2. Chop (not quite finely) the onion and garlic and begin sauteing them in a skillet.
3. As the onion begins to become translucent, add the bacon, then the pork, salt, and pepper.
4. While the pork is browning, chop the zucchini and squash into bite size pieces.
5. When the pork is nearly browned, add the Italian seasoning, basil, and turmeric.  ( I wait this late so the turmeric doesn’t give me a false sense of the pork being browned.)
4. When the pork and bacon have finished browning, drain the grease (or let it cook off –my preferred method).
5. Add all the ingredients (except one bag of shredded mozzarella) to the crock pot and stir to make sure the ricotta is mixed in thoroughly.
6. Cover and cook on low all day.
7. Remove the top and sprinkle the second bag of shredded mozzarella on top of the mix fifteen to thirty minutes before serving.
Leave a Reply

