Music Monday – Gluten Free Bread

A friend of mine posted part of a lyric to a Bread song yesterday, which made me start thinking about the songs and the band…and I joked that while you don’t find many folks with an appreciation for Bread these days, that someone should start up a modern version of the band and call themselves Gluten Free Bread.  Good joke, bad joke, whatever.  Listed as a rock band, the 70s obviously had different definitions of rock than we have now…they’d be soft rock, at best.  Classification aside, Bread had a number of hits throughout the seventies, the majority of their albums and hits coming between 1969 and 1972.  What made their songs so great was the lyrics that were poignant and loving, combined with the soft, melodic guitar and lilting vocals.

Here are a few of Bread’s hits with a few lines of their lyrics.

If

(released 1971, peaked: #4 US Hot 100, #1 Easy Listening)

And when my love for life is running dry,
You come and pour yourself on me.

This and “Diary” are my two favorite Bread songs.  I can’t really put my finger on why I like this one so much, I just do.

Make It With You

(released 1970, peaked: #1 US Hot 100, #5 UK Singles)

Dreams, they’re for those who sleep,
Life is for us to keep,
And if you’re wond’ring
What this song is leading to
I want to make it with you

Everything I Own

(released 1972, peaked: #5 US Hot 100, #32 Adult Contemporary)

You taught me how to love,
What it’s of, what it’s of.
You never said too much,
but still you showed the way,
and I knew from watching you.
Nobody else could ever know
the part of me that can’t let go.

Baby I’m-a Want You

(released 1971, peaked: #3 US Hot 100, #14 UK Singles, #1 Easy Listening)

Baby, I’m-a want you
Baby, I’m-a need you
You the only one I care enough to hurt about

Diary

(released 1972, peaked: #15 US Hot 100)

I found her diary underneath a tree.
And started reading about me.
The words began stick and tears to flow.
Her meaning now was clear to see.
The love she’d waited for was someone else not me
Wouldn’t you know it, she wouldn’t show it.

While it’s not great news for the narrator of the song, I really like the turns of events.

Leave a Reply

