Music Monday – Setting the Night to Music

I recently rediscovered the top ten hit from the early nineties, “Set the Night to Music”, a duet between Roberta Flack and Maxi Priest.  It’s just a pretty song.  It’s got decent lyrics, a nice adult contemporary sound, and Roberta’s and Maxi’s voices blend beautifully…which is what really makes the song great.

Set the Night to Music

(released 1991, peaked: #6 US Hot 100, #2 US Adult Contemporary)

Find a rhythm all our own, melt into it nice and slow
Love ourselves away from here
Your heart beating next to mine, perfect love in perfect time
Watch the world disappear

Close To You

(released 1990, peaked: #1 US Hot 100, #2 US R&B)

She was a Gemini on the cusp of Mars
She holds me back or she goes too far
Winding me up just to let me down
So emotionally gagged and bound

Maxi Priest’s huge breakout and introduction to the mainstream audience that missed him with his Wild World cover on a previous album.

Wild World

(released 1989; peaked: #25 US Hot 100, $5 UK Singles)

You know I’ve seen a lot of what the world can do
And it’s breaking my heart in two
Because I never want to see you sad girl
Don’t be a bad girl

Maxi’s cover of Cat Steven’s hit is a smooth, reggae fusion version.

House Call by Shabba Ranks (featuring Maxi Priest)

(released 1991; peaked #37 US Hot 100, #31 UK Singles)

Let my caresses take you places
Where ya never been before
To the edge of your desire
Where you want it more and more
But do you want a prize
Turn out the lights
Come lets make tonight the night
There’s no resisting
Love is insisting
Come lets make it right tonight hey

Bringing his dancehall, toasting style to the US a few years before, Shabba Ranks partnered with Maxi Priest to bring Maxi’s reggae fusion into a this catchy little jam.

That Girl (featuring Shaggy)

(released 1996; peaked: #20 US Hot 100, #15 UK Singles)

Holy Moses Lord it could have been me
Caught up in this trap I didn’t wanna be, I know
But I ain’t no fool I was one step ahead, yeah
I had to let go cause I was over my head

Another reggae star collaboration, featuring Shaggy.

Leave a Reply

