Music Monday – Much Too Late

Thursday.  It’s Thursday and I was just about to skip posting a Music Monday entry for this week when Julian Lennon’s line from “Too Late For Goodbyes” popped into my head…specifically, the “it’s much too late” part.  So, instead of skipping this week’s post, I decided to post links to a few hits for Julian off of Valotte, his debut album, and The Secret Value of Daydreaming, his follow-up.  His two hits from Valotte both cracked the Top Ten of Billboard’s Hot 100, “Too Late For Goodbyes” reaching #1 on the Adult Contemporary chart.  The album earned him the Grammy for Best New Artist.
Too Late For Goodbyes
(released 1985, peaked: #5 US Hot 100, #1 Adult Contemporary)
Time has gone since I’ve been with you
We’ve been starting to die
Now it seems you don’t care for me
And I don’t understand why
But it’s much too late for goodbyes
Yes it’s much too late for goodbyes
Valotte
(released 1984, peaked: #9 US Hot 100, #5 Adult Contemporary)
Sitting on a pebble by the river playing guitar
Wond’ring if we’re really ever gonna get that far
Do you know there’s something wrong?
’cause I’ve felt it all along
Stick Around
(released 1986, peaked: #32 US Hot 100, #1 US Mainstream Rock)
If you say your love won’t bring me down
I might stick around.
If I kiss your lips just one more time
I could lose control.
Leave a Reply

