Music Monday – Greeting the New Year

Late last night/very early this morning, I posted an Open Letter to My Daughters on this blog. It was about changes I know are coming.  I included a few bits of advice in it.  Some of that advice would be good for LOTS of people to read and heed.  It isn’t groundbreaking, but it is good, solid, concise advice…IMHO
As this Music Monday falls on New Year’s Eve, I feel it fitting for it to follow that open letter with music that’s a wee bit inspirational.  No, I’m not talking about church/gospel music (this time).  I’m talking about songs that have a positive message for my daughters…for everyone.
If I had just one wish
Only one demand
I hope he’s not like me
I hope he understands
That he can take this life
And hold it by the hand
And he can greet the world
With arms wide open…
“With Arms Wide Open” by Creed
Creed’s song hit the mark with me on this one.  I truly hope it’s a long time before my daughters become as skeptical (cynical, maybe?) as I have.  While I want them to be safe, think things through, and look below the surface, I want them to remain open…to people and to change.
If I could reach, higher
Just for one moment touch the sky
From that one moment in my life
I’m gonna be stronger
Know that I’ve tried my very best
I’d put my spirit to the test
If I could reach
“Reach” by Gloria Estefan

I was instantly hooked on this song back in 1996 when it was released for the Atlanta Summer Olympic Games.  It sums up everything about setting a goal to be the best and giving everything to reach it.  This goes for most things in life.  If you put your heart into it and give one hundred percent, even if you don’t reach your goal, you can hold your head high knowing you gave your all, your best effort.  You can’t be faulted for that.  I want my daughters to have that kind of drive in whatever they choose to excel at…school, work, sports, the arts.  It doesn’t matter what it is, just put your heart into it and go.

The struggles I’m facing
The chances I’m taking
Sometimes might knock me down
But, no, I’m not breaking
“The Climb” by Miley Cyrus
Part of reaching for those goals is getting knocked on your butt, overcoming hurdles and roadblocks.  Like the Chinese proverb goes:  Fall seven times, stand up eight.  Get back in the saddle, knock down the walls…keep climbing.
If you only knew what the future holds
After a hurricane comes a rainbow
“Firework” by Katy Perry
This song rapidly became one of my all-time favorites.  I can’t paste the entire song’s lyrics, but for my daughters, right now, I think the two lines above are the most important.  Remember that when things look bleak, when you can’t seem to find any friends, when the slope seems steep and endless, whatever the problem is will pass.  Persevere. Don’t quit.  Know that once you overcome whatever it is, the reward, however big or small, will be so much sweeter.  Giving in isn’t an option.
Leave a Reply

