Music Monday – Kings of the Lovelorn

This would be a great name for a band that made their way singing power ballads, wouldn’t it?  I almost titled this “Kings of the Power Ballads”, but by the most accepted definitions, the band/artist must be a rock group and, well, Air Supply won’t make many people’s list of rock bands.  They were a hugely successful band in the early 80s, known for singing songs about 1) being in love, 2) unrequited love, 3) losing one’s love, and  4) searching/hoping for love.  Are you seeing a theme here?  If you listened to any pop or adult contemporary radio in the 80s, you’ve heard a number of Air Supply’s songs.  While they aren’t a rock band, and aren’t quite as theatrical as Queen or Meat Loaf, their biggest hits had great orchestration that built up to the soaring vocals while that then dropped out to soft melodic tones and near whispers.  The lyrics were often nicely done, as well.

Here are a few of my favorite Air Supply songs with a few lines of their lyrics.

All Out Of Love

(released 1980, peaked: #2 US Hot 100, #5 Adult Contemporary)

I wish I could carry your smile in my heart
For times when my life seems so low
It would make me believe what tomorrow could bring
When today doesn’t really know, doesn’t really know

Making Love Out of Nothing at All

(released 1983, peaked: #2 US Hot 100, #2 Adult Contemporary)

The beating of my heart is a drum, and it’s lost
And it’s looking for a rhythm like you
You can take the darkness from the pit of the night
And turn into a beacon burning endlessly bright

Every Woman in the World

(released 1980, peaked: #5 US Hot 100, #2 Adult Contemporary)

Overnight scenes, dinner and wine, Saturday girls
I was never in love, never had the time
In my hustle and hurry world
Laughing myself to sleep, waking up lonely
I needed someone to hold me, oh

Sweet Dreams

(released 2010, peaked: #30 Adult Contemporary)

This last video is one of Air Supply’s most recent releases, Faith in Love, from their 2010 album Mumbo Jumbo.  I’m not sure if their voices just can’t hit the notes they used to or if they just decided people were more interested in this sound, but I preferred the early 80’s sound.

(released 1982, peaked: #5 US Hot 100, #4 Adult Contemporary)

Leave a Reply

