Music Monday – Many Thanks

As Thanksgiving Day here in the U.S. happens in  two days (yes, I’m a day late for the Music Monday post again), I decided that songs of thanks were appropriate.  The songs I found don’t cover quite all of the things for which I’m thankful, but they cover a couple:  the love of my life and humor.

Here’s my short list of things I’m thankful for

1.  I’m thankful for my wife…who loved me when I was pretty darn broke and still loves me now that I’m, well, not rich by any stretch of the imagination, but no longer broke.  She accepts me for who I am…(the very few) faults and all.

2.  I’m thankful for my beautiful, creative, intelligent daughters who both love sci-fi and fantasy like their parents.

3.  I’m thankful to have/had parents who raised me well.

4.  I’m thankful to have a job, esp. one that I mostly enjoy that also provides me the opportunity to play the sport I love (see number six) a few days a week during lunch.

5.  I’m thankful for my in-laws.  They rock.

6.  I’m thankful for the friends I have that I don’t get to see often enough.

7.  I’m thankful for soccer…that I get to play it, watch it, coach it…and that my daughters like to play it.

8.  And, yes, I’m thankful for social media…for the Facebook friends I have (many with whom I have a bond that none of us really understood until years later) and those who follow and/or comment on my blogs.

On to the videos…these first two are for my number one…my wife, my anam cara.

Bon Jovi’s “Thank You For Loving Me”

Sly and The Family Stone’s “Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin)”

Finally, a little fun for Turkey day with Adam Sandler.  While not quite as funny as his Hanukkah Song, The Thanksgiving Song is still pretty funny.

Happy Thanksgiving, All!

One Response

  1. I always love thankful lists and consider it an honor to read them. It’s like getting a peek into a person’s soul…discovering what they value and what brings them alive. Thanks for posting yours. :0)

    Oh, and your wife and girls sound totally awesome!!! :0)

Leave a Reply

