“Sunglasses At Night” Meets “Fright Night”

The other day I was driving home from work and Corey Hart’s “Sunglasses at Night” came on the radio.  [Okay, not exactly, I don’t listen to the radio, but it played off the CD I had loaded in the player.]  While I was jamming along, singing, a memory popped into my head of walking home from the theater on Fort Harrison after watching Fright Night.  I was wearing my shades, which I wore at night often at that point in my life…I was just cool like that.  I remember there being a group of us who’d been to the movie.  I started doing my best creepy undead/vampire impression and the girls started playing along and screaming which led to a little “running away”, which led to me “disappearing” and running a block or so ahead to pop out in front of them when they weren’t expecting it, which led to more screaming.  Ah, the games we play as kids!

Here’s Sunglasses at Night by Corey Hart

 

Here’s the original Fright Night trailer from 1985.  Funny having seen the movie how they initially tried to play this up as a more serious horror flick than the humor ridden, near campy movie it turned out to be.  I suppose it did actually have some suspenseful moments, though.

Leave a Reply

