Still Life…or a rather uninspiring workout view

Still Life shot from the gymI love nature…the great outdoors…fresh (and not-so fresh) air.  In the middle of summer heat and humidity, I’ll drive home with the windows down instead of using the air conditioner…as long as I don’t have anywhere to go that I’d prefer not to show up at dressed as a big sweat spot.

That being said, this isn’t exactly the most exciting view (picture to the right) for cardio exercise.  Running in the treadmill staring out the window at trees right outside the window.  I know, I could always take my butt outside and run, but I don’t run at a constant pace very well without the treadmill.  The treadmill also provides the ability to adjust the incline which doesn’t vary much at all here where I work.  This gym also provides my favorite cardio machine, the StepMill, as well as the recumbent bike from which I’m composing this post.
StepMill 7000 PT

For those who aren’t inclined to watch the trees grow, there are the standard TVs with ESPN, Fox News, CNN Headline news, ESPN2, and a local network affiliate.  Or, you can stare at the digital display on whichever machine you’re using…or even at the other people at the gym…which I discussed in a couple previous posts:

At the gym…Watching the Ladies
At the gym…A Manly Competition

Maybe they left the trees this close to help cut down on the sun/heat coming in the windows. If they just relocated the first couple trees, though, they’d still accomplish that, in addition to opening up the view to more of the woods and critters, which would provide a look at slightly less still life.

Of course, I’m probably the only person who’s spent this much time pondering this view.

One Response

  1. This post made me laugh seeing as I was just mentally cursing my treadmill for the pain that it is…or brings…whatever. I’ve been messing around online in hopes of avoiding it. And then I come across this post. Drat. Fine *sighs*. I’m a gettin’, I’m a gettin’. *drags body to the dreaded machine* Thanks for the pep…er, guilt talk.

    :0)

Leave a Reply

