Music Monday – Tear Jerkers

A day late (technically two now that it’s past midnight), but not a dollar short, here’s this week’s Music Monday post…

I posed this question on Facebook last week:  “What song makes you tear up? Why?”

Based on the high percentage of my friends who are Army Brats, in the military, or working for the military as civilians or contractors, it wasn’t surprising that the majority of the responses included the Star Spangled Banner, God Bless the U.S.A. by Lee Greenwood, and American Soldier by Toby Keith.  The reason, naturally, patriotism.  I have to concur with these.  I have teared up to all three.

Others on the list of responses included:

  • Last Kiss (not sure if it was Pearl Jam or the original)
  • Amazing Grace (played on bagpipes) [it’s the only way I can stand that tune – otherwise it just grates on me]
  • Tough Time by Jack Johnson and Corey Smith

A few of those I’ve never heard and those that I have don’t make me cry.  They are very moving songs, but they don’t quite do it for me.  If there’s not a link above, I couldn’t find a video for it.

My Short List

There are many songs that I’ve shed a tear over, but not too many that do it repeatedly. Here is my short list of songs that still I tear up over:

The One by Elton John
This one’s easy to explain.  It’s happy tears.  I used a few lines of this in my vows to my wife.  Feel free to guess which ones.

Somewhere Over the Rainbow by Israel “IZ” Kamakawiwoʻole
Another easy one.  For some reason, this song reminds me of my mom [because we lived in Hawai’i…maybe] who died two years ago yesterday (when I actually started this post).

Concrete Angel by Martina McBride
Again, it’s fairly simple to figure this one out.  It really does it when I watch the video.  When I hear about people abusing kids, I want to beat them with bats until they aren’t moving any longer.

I’m Already There by Lonestar
This one has done it every time.  Not the original version, but the one that was created with the snippets of interviews/conversations with the family of deployed troops…every time without fail.

Lucky One by Mike Corrado
Mike is a Marine who’s been writing and playing music for over ten years now.  Since his recall to duty and deployment, his focus has been on songs for and about the troops.  Lucky One is a song about dealing with PTSD.  To quote Mike “It’s easy to see service members with physical scars but much more difficult to see the ‘scars that hide deep inside’ of those suffering with PTSD,”

…And the latest to add to my list:  Firework by Katy Perry.

I can’t quite explain it, but I think it has to do with understanding that whoever you are, you can be strong, you can make a difference, and that you carpe diem, carpe noctem, carpe vitam.  Don’t give up, don’t give in…”If you only knew what the future holds, after a hurricane comes a rainbow”

3 Responses

  1. Now you have me thinking of your mom. My first memory is always the same – drinking out of the bottle at your wedding.

  2. […] Music Monday – Tear Jerkers […]

Leave a Reply

