Musical Meanderings with My Girls

Tonight after dinner, I was driving around with my daughters, listening to a mixed CD I made.  Taylor Swift’s “You Belong to Me” came on…and I turned the volume up to close to the level I listen to it.  They sang along with it.  Usually, I get complaints from the younger one about the music being too loud…but not tonight, not for that song.  When it finished, I switched back to an earlier track and blared “Firework” by Katy Perry.  Again, no complaints, and the sing-a-long continued.  I skipped to Queen’s “The Show Must Go On” with Freddie Mercury’s haunting vocals, then to “Skyscraper” by Demi Lovato.  I changed discs and we sang along to “The Climb” by Miley Cyrus, then the acoustic version of Bon Jovi’s “Keep The Faith” from their This Left Feels Right album, followed by Demi Lovato’s “Don’t Forget“, Zac Efron’s “Bet On It“, and brought it, and us, home with Taylor Swift’s “Love Story“.

The girls knew the words to almost all of the songs from their generation.  I knew those, and the others.  The more important things, though, were that we all had a good time driving around singing along with the songs, that they are getting exposure to  good music, theirs and mine (and liking it all), and they are listening to songs with positive messages.

Here are a couple videos from the list of tunes we sang along with tonight:

The one that kicked it off…Taylor Swift’s “You Belong With Me”

My favorite band, Bon Jovi’s “Keep The Faith”  (this actually ends then follows into “Always”)

and Katy Perry’s “Firework”

One Response

  1. Hi Master Lorwynd: I wanted to let you know that I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award… Come check it out: http://meenarose.com/2012/06/16/the-versatile-blogger-award/

    As an added bonus you get to learn 7 random things about me 🙂

    Totally adore sing-alongs with kids in the car.

Leave a Reply

