Playing Catch Up…or Dontcha Hate It When You Bite Off More Than You Can Chew

I began the year determined to successfully complete my Project 366…making a blog post here daily.  I knew that I’d end up missing a day here or there that would require posting two in the next day or so.  That was going along fairly well through March.  I’d made a couple cheesy, last minute, “I can’t think of anything” posts just to check the daily post box, but April just blew me out of the water.  In addition to my Project 366, I again participated in the April Poem-A-Day (PAD) Challenge at the Poetic Asides blog on WritersDigest.com.  I was still okay for the first few days, but by the time we were one third of the way through the PAD challenge, I was having trouble getting the poems done, and the blog posts had fallen off.  I haven’t gotten around to counting exactly how many blog posts I am behind, but I’m guessing that I’ve got about two weeks worth of two posts a day to get back on track.

Maybe I can catch up and get ahead of the Project 366 before November’s PAD Chapbook Challenge comes around…kind of like carbo-loading for the blog.

 

6 Responses

  1. I feel your pain, Robio. I struggle with the photo project, though in year two has been a little easier to commit daily. Then again, I just need to take the pic every day, some of them still get queued up before I post.

    Don’t let slips deter you. FWIW, I have read every one of your posts – but they get queued up too.

    • My “problem” is usually coming up with a topic. Once I have one, the writing isn’t too difficult. Writing about movies and music and such that I like is a popular topic because I can usually open up YouTube write about one or more videos/artists/etc.

      Thanks for reading them.

  2. perhaps one could prioritize…is it making some cheesy last minute post that makes your readers sit back and think or is it the ones you really take the time to think about? the project was designed to get you writing more, and you have done that, so don’t think that it is about doubling up, because that was not the intent…

    • I do prioritize…I chose the short term writing over the longer term. I also have this habit of watching TV with this hot chick each night, even though I’m not really enthused by what we watch anymore, instead of writing. I do write more now than I did, though. That’s true. Now I just have to get back into blog mode like I was a month ago.

      • sometimes, the hot chick falls asleep leaving you an entire night to “blog” or ermmm play on the book of face

  3. […] in early May, I posted an update on my Project 366 called Playing Catch-up or Dontcha Hate It When You Bite Off More Than You Can Chew.  In that post, I mentioned that I’d been doing pretty well with the Project until I also […]

Leave a Reply

