There Must Be Room for More Food

As I sit here thinking of how to write this post, lyrics from Rapper’s Delight by the Sugarhill Gang come to mind:

your friend says man there’s plenty of food
so you pile some more on your plate

Maybe it’s a character flaw, or a flaw that we, as a group, have on my team at the office, but when there’s work that needs to be done, whether it should rightfully be our project or someone else’s, if we’ve got the skill set to deal with it, we step up and do it.  This, of course, leads to us to having our plates constantly full…over-flowing, at times…well, a lot of the time.

Thank you, sir.  May I have another!?

The other problem we have is that we don’t cry “Uncle!” when we have food starting to fall off.  Amongst ourselves, we bluster about how we’re not going to take on any more projects, that we don’t have the manpower to do what we already have, but for every task we complete, we seem to add two more.

[Here’s a link to a couple of poems that kind of fit right in here:  The Long and Short of Life at Work]

Oh, yeah, did I mention that most of the tasks we “volunteer” to work (instead of fighting and complaining that they aren’t ours) are usually high visibility projects…the kind that make our bosses ping like balls in a pinball machine?  No?  And not only do we usually complete the tasks, but once complete, we’re lucky if we get a “thanks” along with the next task.

The crazy thing is that regardless of the quality and quantity of the work we do, the bosses waste no time jumping up and down and screaming when one of the customers calls up with any complaint.  You’d think the first reaction would be to question the complaint and find out what’s really going on before the knee-jerk bashing begins.

All this said, I really enjoy my job.  And as hectic as it sounds, I suppose it’s better than sitting around with nothing to do, waiting for the phone to ring or an email to hit the inbox.  And, I’ve never been one who needed to be praised and coddled and attaboy’d every time I do a good job.  I’m always going to do the best job I can because it’s who I am…it’s what I do.  I take pride in my work and when I reach the point that I don’t care about the quality of the product I’m producing, it’ll be time to move on.

Until then, please pass the potatoes…my plate has a small empty spot.

Leave a Reply

