Those “Oh, Wow!” Moments

At first, I thought this topic would be a better fit for my “Wanna Get Published, Write!” blog since it was going to be focused on writing, but I decided to expand it to include more than that, to be more general…so here it is.

Within the last couple years, I’ve begun posting poems to the Poetic Asides blog on Writer’s Digest website.  I try to post at least one poem each Wednesday when the blog owner posts the weekly Wednesday Poetry Prompt.  Last year, I participated in the April Poem-A-Day challenge and the November Poem-A-Day Chapbook Challenge, although I never submitted a chapbook –the final step in November’s challenge.  So, over the last two years, give or take, I’ve been writing a lot more poems than I used to, with the exception of a poetry class I took at the college at which I worked back in 1999 and a flurry of poems I wrote over seven or eight months starting around January of 1995.  Because Poetic Asides is a blog, many poets contribute poems each week in the form of comments and also read the poems others have posted and comment on them.  Last week, one of the more prolific poets on the blog, commented on my blog about getting in touch with me about a closed poetry group on FaceBook and possibly working with some of the others on an anthology.  I thought this sounded very cool and jumped at the chance.  Part of the anthology includes poet bios and tonight, I had one of those “Oh, Wow!” moments while reading through the ones already posted.  The first four or five poets to post their bios have been published numerous times in multiple publications, including poetry, fiction, non-fiction.  They’ve won awards.  They’ve done stand-up comedy and performance poetry, written TV screenplays, and a host of other noteworthy activities.  And I thought…”Oh, Wow!  [the originator of the group] thinks my poetry is worthy of appearing with theirs.”

When you’re creating…poetry, art, games, websites, interiors, etc… as a hobby, you may think your stuff is okay, sometimes good, and now and then, a wower,  but when someone else includes you in a group of folks who’ve been recognized, it’s pretty cool.

I’m looking forward to seeing this anthology published and having a copy for my coffee table.  I’m sure you’ve all had these moments and I’m hoping you’ll share your “Oh, Wow!” moments…so, c’mon…’fess up!

5 Responses

  1. Congratulations! I guess I’m still waiting for my “Oh, Wow!” moment, but I’ve had a lot of good moments so they’ll have to do 🙂

  2. An encouraging post for those of us who sometimes loose hope. Thank you for sharing!

  3. Champagne cork popping to you!

  4. Thanks, all! I’m kind of stoked about the anthology, but not getting too excited. My ultimate goal is to have a novel published…through the traditional editor –> publisher –> bookstore shelf method. Until then, I’ll keep poeming away, reading books on writing, working on short stories and, somewhere in between all that, find a way to work on a novel. Can’t publish it if I don’t write it, right?

  5. […] I jumped at the chance and discussed my feelings on being invited on my other blog with a post titled Those “Oh, Wow!” Moments. […]

Leave a Reply

