My Not-So-Secret Affair

She calls to me.  I spend hours watching her, sneaking in twenty minutes here, an hour there, recording her for viewing after my wife has gone to bed…

Anyone who knows me at all, knows that I Love Soccer…I love playing it, I love coaching it, and I love watching it.  In fact, I wrote about how much I love it almost two years ago:  “My Soccer Addiction.”  My daughters play it and list it among their hobbies, but I haven’t yet seen the spark that indicates they have that burning desire to be the best they can be at it, but I suppose I didn’t have it at ten or under, either.

My wife, I’m sure, would be just as happy if my affair with soccer would end.  I can admit that I spend a lot of time talking about it and watching it.  Strictly speaking, though, I probably don’t spend any more time talking about and watching it than most guys spend watching and talking about football (american).  Two seasons a year, I also coach it.

One big difference between me and soccer, and most guys and football is that I still play soccer…about three days a week during lunch, and when things work out, a season or two a year on an adult league team.  Lately, our level of competition during lunch has been increasing and the games are getting better, too.  On Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays, I look forward to going to work just to play at lunch.

My love of the game may be due to my ancestry…

In Europe, it’s different – you eat soccer, you breathe soccer, you drink soccer. Everything is about soccer.   –Thomas Dooley

I thought about calling this “Playing until I can’t walk” as I don’t see my affair with The Beautiful Game ending until I am physically unable to play her.  Sad, I know, but it is what it is.

Leave a Reply

