Recipe: Sour Creamy Chicken over Noodles

Sour Creamy Chicken over NoodlesOn the way home tonight, I was trying to decide what I was going to do with the chicken that was waiting on me at home.  The clouds looked like they could decide to open up and rain so I didn’t want to use the grill.  What could I do with the chicken and what would I have with it?  Hmmm.  Cheesy chicken in the skillet was the first thing to pop into my head, but what would go with that?  Also, that would be a big sticky mess in the skillet.  Oh, I could add sour cream –it would add flavor and melt along with the cheesy to become a creamy mixture with chicken in it…and I could serve it over egg noodles.  Conveniently, I had to stop by the store for more powdered Coffee Mate so I grabbed the few ingredients I needed to make this and then got to work on it when I got home.
The Ingredients
1 package boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1/2 medium onion (chopped)
16 oz. package of egg noodles
16 oz. sour cream
4 oz. shredded cheese (I used sharp cheddar)
1/2 of a small tub of crumbled goat cheese
smoked paprika
onion powder
garlic powder
paprika
curry
pepper
Prep and Cooking
1. Put the water on for the noodles
2. Cube the chicken and saute in a skillet with a little olive oil, pepper, onion powder, garlic powder, smoked paprika, and curry
3. As the chicken is getting near done, add the chopped onion
4. The water should be boiling and ready for the noodles
5. While the noodles cook, add the shredded cheese, goat cheese, sour cream, paprika, and a little more pepper to the chicken and stir
6. The skillet mixture should be completely melted by the time the noodles are done
7. Serve the chicken mixture over the noodles
**Note: I probably could have used a little more cheese and then, maybe, a little milk to thin the sauce a bit –it had a very strong sour cream flavor. My wife and I didn’t mind it, but our girls weren’t very fond of it.
Leave a Reply

