Sissy Soccer or My Beef with The Floppers and Divers

This is a repost/move from another blog that I’m closing down.  Originally posted:  February 21, 2011.

Watching the Arsenal vs. Barcelona game the other night and there was Messi, FIFA’s Ballon d’Or winner, playing pansy soccer. You know what I’m talking about… the “he barely bumped me so I’ll fall down and hope the ref gives me a penalty because I had nowhere to go” play. Messi’s obviously not the only player who does this. The sad part is that a LOT of the players who play this way have crazy skills and don’t need to do it. Worse, kids are being taught to play this way. I have a friend who thinks this is a great strategy…maybe you can dive and get someone from the other team a card or get your team a PK. Of course, the ones who like to dive have no problem going in hard on a tackle when they’ve got the advantageous position.

Lionel and company, I am in awe of your skills, but I find it difficult to respect and admire people who tarnish The Beautiful Game by playing this way. I’d say I hope to see this change, but I’m afraid it’s here to stay…

Leave a Reply

