“May the Force be with you” …as long as you’ve got enough germs

“May the Force be with you.”

Growing up, these words were akin to Vaya con Dios, Godspeed, and, on a not-quite-Divine level, “Live long and prosper”.  They were a blessing to be wished on friends at parting in hopes that “the Force” would guide and protect them until next you met.

Aside from making it difficult to explain which movie you’re talking about without having to give episode number (which may or may not help) and episode title, George Lucas destroyed the whole Force mythos.  He changed what had been, for me and millions of other Star Wars fans, a mystical, magical, faith-based spiritual essence that could be tapped into by a relatively small number of beings into a simple energy source available to whoever has enough “germs/bugs”.

R. A. Salvatore, in his introduction to Philip Athans’ The Guide to Writing Fantasy and Science Fiction, expressed a similar view:

“And then there is the magic.  Magic is faith, and faith is magic.  Why did we feel betrayed in Star Wars Episode 1:  The Phantom Menace, when Lucasfilm introduced the word midiochlorian to explain the force?  Because it demystified the Force, that’s why.  Because it took the Divine and made it mundane.”

Betrayed is a good word to describe the feeling I felt after the initial “WTH???” moment.  I couldn’t believe it.  Jar Jar was completely annoying, but I could tolerate him as a silly, cartoony character thrown in to make kids smile.  More than ten years later, I can’t forgive Lucas for ruining the Force.  I own “Star Wars”, “The Empire Strikes Back”, and “The Return of the Jedi” –yes, I called what is now known as episode 4:  A New Hope, Star Wars.  That was its title back in 1977 when it was released.  I will never spend my hard-earned money on episodes 1, 2, and 3.  I will watch the three I have and pretend I never heard the word midiochlorians.

2 Responses

  1. I am 100% in agreement. I dislike Episode 1 so much, I didn’t bother to see the next two.

    • I saw them. Due mostly to the increased level of action, Episode 3 was tolerable. Episode 2 was a complete waste of time, much like 1. I hope the casting director didn’t charge much for their service, because Hayden Christensen can’t act. He’s much like Keanu Reeves and Nicolas Cage… they each have one look/emotion which they have down pat, but if you ask them to “act” in a different manner, it quickly becomes obvious that they aren’t good actors. A shame, too, since I actually like a number of the movies and/or characters these guys have been in. The story and dialogue for much of the entire Anakin trilogy was complete crap, and it can’t even be blamed cheesing it up for the kids.

Leave a Reply

