Election 2010: The Day After

So a whole mess of Democrats got voted out of office yesterday, as well as a few Republicans.  The Democrats barely held on to the Senate while the Republicans breezed into firm control of the House.  We still have a Democrat as President for at least another two years.  All the political pundits and analysts are now in a frenzy, speculating about how the two camps will work/not work together to take the wheel and bring the ship around to a new course toward prosperity rather than down the whirlpool… all the way to the bottom.

I just hope for the sake of my children and family, my neighbors, my state, and my country, that the people we’ve voted in are actually there to do what is best for the folks who voted for them rather than to line their pockets and keep themselves in office.

Like most of the people I know, I’ve got a general mistrust of politicians.  More and more, I feel the old saying my dad used to joke about is true:  “How do you know when a politician is lying?  His lips are moving.”  I don’t, generally, vote because I think a candidate can actually accomplish the things they claim they are going to work for if elected.  I vote for the person that appears to be the most honest and candid in their views.

I’m hoping, but not holding my breath, that the parties can work together and that Congress and the President can make some real positive change happen soon.

Leave a Reply

