Gene Therapy

You don’t need to read this article to understand the post, but it is what prompted this post.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/health/healthnews/8026075/Scientists-discover-how-to-switch-off-pain-of-migraines.html

Haven’t I seen movies about this?  Military scientists are able to turn off soldiers pain receptors so they can continue to fight after injured?  What they don’t realize is that a side effect of the drug or gene manipulation is that the process also turns the soldiers into crazed killers who fight everyone, not just the enemy.  I know I’m not the only one who seen these.

I’m also fairly sure that I’m not the only one who cringes every time they hear the that scientists think they have found a gene they can manipulate to change something in humans.  I don’t know that it equates to “playing God” as many people argue, but I don’t think that messing with our genetic code is a good thing.  Of course, I don’t suffer (as far as I know) from anything that ‘gene therapy’ can fix, and maybe I’d feel differently if I did.  Maybe.  I think that I’d have to have something more horrible than migraines to want to trust that a doctor/scientist had studied any potential side-effects long enough to risk ‘gene therapy.’

I know I’m going to catch hell from those who suffer from migraines for making light of them.  I don’t get them.  Normally, I endure headaches until they go away –no meds.  If they persist most of the day, I’ll take an aspirin or two.  Only twice have I had headaches so bad that I could barely open my eyes, felt sick to my stomach, and wanted to do nothing other than crawl back into bed… and, no, it wasn’t a hang over.  From what I’ve heard from people who get migraines, these two that I described are similar to migraines.  It would, indeed, suck to have these on a recurring basis, but, again, I’d have to get them somewhat frequently to try ‘gene therapy.’

And to take the genetic manipulation issue down the road of inevitability, how far do we drive it?  Do we stop at fixing problems or do we keep zipping down that road straight into designer children?  That’s really a question for a different post.

Leave a Reply

