My Hero for the Week – Carrie Prejean

originally posted 4/21/2009 1:17 pm

(Maybe I should make this a weekly topic…   I’ll have to think about that)

Carrie Prejean, first runner-up to Miss USA 2009, My Hero for the Week

No, I don’t watch the pageants (or the Oscars or Grammys or CMAs, etc.), but this one has stirred up quite a buzz.  The “news” media is calling it a controversy.  According to what I’ve read, Carrie Prejean and Miss USA 2009, Kristen Dalton, were separated by .36 of a point going into the Q&Q round of the competition.  I haven’t heard anything about the question Miss Dalton had to answer, but Miss Prejean was asked whether she believed in gay marriage, she answered “We live in a land where you can choose same-sex marriage or opposite. And you know what, I think in my country, in my family, I think that I believe that a marriage should be between a man and a woman. No offense to anybody out there, but that’s how I was raised.”  The speculation is that her answer is what cost her the win as one judge made it clear that he didn’t like her answer.

So, why’s Carrie Prejean my hero for the week?  It has nothing to do with whether I’m for or against gay marriage.  It has EVERYTHING to do with the fact that she had the COURAGE to stand up there on the stage, in front of the hundreds/thousands of people in the audience, and the handful or so of people watching it live across the country on TV, and say what she honestly felt.  That, my friends, takes more courage than most people will ever have to display.  According to what I’ve been reading, she’d have locked up the win with the politically correct answer that went against what she believes.

What’s really sad is that the weenie judge who tanked her couldn’t see past his personal prejudice for people who don’t believe the same thing he does and give her great credit for having the courage to answer honestly.  I guess it shows that what we really want in this country are people who look good and feed us the BS they think we want to hear, regardless of what they really believe.

I don’t want to take anything away from Miss Dalton.  It’s kind of sad that her victory is now being overshadowed by this controversy, but I can’t say how impressed I am with Miss Prejean’s character.

Way to go, Carrie!

Comments:

Old Bob wrote (4/21/2009 10:28 pm):
this young lady obviously received some lousy coaching. answering the question from her heart instead of her head is much like applying for a retail job and admitting that you have stolen from previous employers…not smart.

Reply:

Lorwynd wrote (4/22/2009 7:44 am):
I’m sure you’ve seen the news about this. She has since defended her response and said she has no regrets. Maybe that’s just an attempt to put on a good facade, but coaching aside, I know these girls spend a lot of time preparing for these events and I’m sure they know who the judges are and what they are for and against. The question, supposedly randomly drawn, was given to her by an openly gay man who makes his living writing/blogging/whatever you want to call it about famous people, frequently trashing them. I’m sure she knew what answer he was looking for. Instead she chose the higher ground and answered honestly.

Now, let’s think about this from another angle. Maybe she is much more shrewd than anyone gives her credit for. She could have given the answer most people would have expected from Miss California in trying to win, but then what? She wins. Congrats, here’s your crown, a one year contract to be a goody-goody, an apartment , some money, and no one really remembers who she is. It was only Sunday night that this event took place. How many people can put a name to the crowned-less-than-a-week-ago Miss USA vs. how many know the name and face of the runner-up? Who now has the better shot for the talk shows, speaking engagements, and being the poster child for millions of Americans? True, she may have been up for poster child for the gay marriage groups in California and around the USA, but that would have railed against what she believes.

Jimmy Choo wrote (4/26/2009 9:34 pm):
I was really upset that the judge w2ho asked her reacted that way. It’s Miss California’s point of view anyway.

Leave a Reply

