It’s not just a coincidence…

originally posted 8/24/2009 10:24 am

Karma. I’m a big believer in it.  Not necessarily the Hindu definition, but more of the Western interpretation of it which can be stated in a couple old adages:  “You reap what you sow” and “What goes around, comes around.”  It’s a universal maxim.  If you do good, good will come back to you.  Not immediately necessarily, but eventually.  If you’re a dirt bag, sooner or later, the cosmos will call you on the carpet and you aren’t going to like the results.  I don’t actively go around thinking about good things to do so that I can get a good return.  I don’t think it really works that way.  I just generally have a positive attitude and help folks when I can.  I’m nowhere near rich, or, at this point, well-off, but I still donate to causes I think are worthy.  If I’m not in a hurry, I’ll usually let a car that’s waiting their turn into the lane of traffic or wave people across the street… little stuff like that.  I’m not in a position to accomplish big things for others, but Karma isn’t necessarily about that.  It’s about doing what you can without expecting something in return.
Here’s an example:  My wife got a call this past Saturday morning offering her the job teaching at the school at which she’d interviewed Friday afternoon.  She got the call for that interview that same Friday morning after the principal of that school had gotten a call from one of her colleagues who was a friend of our neighbor.  Thursday night, my wife had been chatting with our neighbor about her job hunt for a teaching position after she took two tickets to the local theme park to the neighbor.  The neighbors don’t have a lot of money to spend on taking their kids to a theme park and they had asked if they could have “even just one” of the single-day tickets I get as part of my compensation package from the theme park where I have a part-time job.  We don’t spend a lot of time visiting with these neighbors, but we decided to give them two tickets since we hadn’t already promised them to anyone.  We didn’t expect anything in return, but it sure worked out great.  Would my wife have gotten called for this position anyway?  Maybe.  The school is expanding, but my wife is certainly not the only qualified teacher for this position.  Coincidence? I’ll go with Karma.

Comments:

Sherry Halpin wrote (8/24/2009 2:14 pm):
That’s a great story!!

Leave a Reply

